Views:

Contact tracing and the venue check-in function are 2 separate ways that the app protects you from coronavirus (COVID-19).

We encourage you to always:

Contact tracing

When you have contact tracing switched on, your app will use Bluetooth to know when it has come into close contact with other nearby app users. ‘Close contact’ is generally 2 metres for 15 minutes or more. If any of those nearby app users later test positive for coronavirus, you will receive an alert to book a test and, if you are not fully vaccinated, you will be advised to self-isolate. The alerts are based on a ‘risk-scoring algorithm’ developed by scientific experts.

Read more about when contact tracing alerts are sent.

Read more about self-isolating and exemptions to self-isolation.

Venue check-in

When you check into venues using the app and official NHS QR code posters, this data is held on your phone.

If it’s identified that people who were there on the same day have since tested positive for coronavirus, you may get an alert advising you to get a test The venue check-in feature works independently of the contact tracing feature. If you get a venue alert it will not tell you to self-isolate.

Read more about how it's decided whether you get an alert from a venue you’ve checked into.